If I could go back to my Freshman year… What would I change?

If I could go back into my freshman year I would change a series of things. Most of my freshman year was a complete blast and I enjoyed being away from home but I do not remember being all that focused in school (what mattered).

For starters I would be much more focused coming into school. I could have been more dedicated to my studies and more active on campus. I was a scared little freshman; I had friends that came into school with me that I knew for years so I wasn’t open to making new random friends.

Secondly, I would change the fact that I didn’t continue to swim competitively. If I would have stuck with swim team fresh out of high school into my freshman year, I would be in much better physical shape. I enjoyed swimming, but like most, I am lazy. I also was too immature for a commitment like swim team and it conflicted with the social life that I thought was so important.

My freshman year, I also had a really nice boyfriend. I eventually broke up with him my sophomore year due to pure boredom. I wish I had not done thatL. We have been in contact since then and I miss him very much. We may eventually date again but it would have been sweet to end on better terms then we did.

As of the rest of the crazy things that I did my freshman year, I think that they were overall great experiences. My freshman year was much like a party, but I think I handled myself very well as it being the first year away from the nest. I wouldn’t change much because those experiences molded me into the student, woman, and mature individual I am today.

 

2 thoughts on “If I could go back to my Freshman year… What would I change?

  1. I think most people will end up saying their freshman year was a big party! I was pretty focused in school and attending all the classes and everything, but I just did what I had to do to earn my A and get out of the class. I really didn’t learn the information that was taught like I wish I would have. That’s nice that you had friends from before coming to GSU as well, but I understand you wanting to maybe branch out a bit more. I was the opposite and didn’t know a single person, luckily I was one of the few that had awesome roommates and made friends through them.

Leave a comment